How exciting to open the door yesterday afternoon, as I was trying to meet deadlines, and find a pile of books waiting for me!

Betsy Ross: Quaker Rebel by Edwin Satterthwaite Parry was published in 1930, and is the only biography of Ross for adults I’ve ever found. I remembered reading it while I was in high school and have tried to track it down ever since. I finally did, through Alibris.

A theatre friend of mine sent me some books she thought I would enjoy, and boy is she right:

The Wrong Horse by William Murray. I’ve read this book several times, but didn’t have a copy of my own. I love it. It’s about the horses he shouldn’t have bet on at the race track, but fell in love with anyway. I’ve got a copy of his companion book, The Right Horse, and he’s written some racing-based mysteries that are great fun.

Saratoga Hot, little novels by Hortense Calisher. She is a new-to-me author, and the title alone sounds delicious. I look forward to reading it!

Agincourt by Christopher Hibbert, about Henry V’s famous victory. I’m fascinated by the period, and can’t wait to read it.

Faeries by Brian Froud and Alan Lee. I have Froud’s Faeries’ Oracle, which is a very powerful deck, and I’m interested in the book.

So, these go into the stack, to be alternated with the books I HAVE to read for various assignments.

Woo-hoo! Getting books is always the best!

